Joe Torre’s Revenge

I don’t know if anybody remembers that at the beginning of baseball season, I wrote about Joe Torre, who is in his first year managing the Los Angeles Dodgers after leading the New York Yankees to four World Series wins.

Torre was dissed by fellow Cancer George Steinbrenner, the New York Yankees owner who wanted to cut Torre’s pay last fall after the team didn’t make it to the playoffs for the third year in a row. So Torre packed his bags for the West Coast. Well, Torre’s gotten the last laugh because the Bronx Bombers didn’t make it to the playoffs without him.

I predicted great things for Torre this year, mostly because he’s a late Cancer Sun with a Capricorn Moon. Both the lights are getting the benefit of the transit from Jupiter in Capricorn. His time of birth is unknown on July 18, 1940 in Brooklyn so I don’t know if he’s an early or late Capricorn Moon. Right in the middle would be good because that’s where Jupiter is right now.

Until today, I didn’t know the Dodgers were playing the Phillies in the National League Championship Series. I confess that I totally took my eye off the ball. Los Angeles is down two games, having lost to the Phillies in Philadelphia, and must win either Game Three on Sunday or Game Four on Monday to have a chance at playing in the World Series.

Well, as they say in sports, “It’s not over till the fat lady sings.” And the good news for Torre is that Games Three and Four are at home. That’s an important word for Cancers. They function much better on their own territory than when they have to go on the road.

On Sunday, Torre has Jupiter exactly square his North Node at the Midheaven. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say Los Angeles stays in the game, even though Saturn is slightly past a square to Torre’s Part of Fortune at 15 Gemini.

Here’s Torre’s natal chart with transits of Sunday, courtesy of Astrodienst.

Before you go calling your bookie, some disclosure is in order. For the record, I picked the Kansas Jayhawks to win the NCAA Final Four and I was right. (When I made my selection the bracket was down to four teams.)

I thought this would be a great year on and off the course for Tiger Woods. He’s expanded his business empire but leg surgery has hampered his winning ways.

Before I bombed out in my picks for the Indy 500, I managed to get one of the three horses in the Kentucky Derby trifecta. I thought that Calvin Borel, last year’s winner, would repeat, riding Denis of Cork, but I was wrong. He came in third. As you can imagine, the bigger the field, the harder it is to pick the winner because of all the charts you have to look at.

The fact that Torre made it to the championships is due to Jupiter’s winning ways. It may be that this isn’t his year to win another World Series. But, looking at his chart, I think he has a very good chance. And that’s what I said back in March.

I also like the fact that the chart for the city of Los Angeles has Mars at 17 degrees of Capricorn, according to Carolyn R. Dodson’s Horoscopes of the U.S. Mars rules sports and Jupiter signifies expansion and glory. So the stars might be rightly aligned for the Dodgers to make it to the World Series.

Leave a Reply

