Happy Festivus!

I thought I knew my Seinfeld lore, but I can see that’s not the case. I discovered from trolling the Net that today, Dec. 23, is Festivus, a fictional holiday “for the rest of us” (rhyme intended, I’m sure).

As we count down the hours to the end of Mars (action, fighting) in Sagittarius (education, travel), this wire story caught my eye: the slugfest to be considered the most literate U.S. big city. It’s between Seattle and Minneapolis, according to the story.

I’ve always been impressed with the way that Angelenos consume new books like a California wildfire. Why so literary in LA? Everyone’s checking out the possibility of turning the latest book into a Hollywood blockbuster.

As for myself, I just want to get through today without someone throwing the book at me, especially during tonight’s “Airing of the Grievances” after the Festivus dinner.

The Airing of the Grievances is when family members let each other know how they were disappointed by each other during the year.

The custom reminds me of the impromptu “360 evaluation” that my now-retired big boss decided to hold after having a few glasses of Jameson at the company Christmas party a few years back.

“You,” he said, pointing at me. “You had such a promising career, but you were a loose cannon.” I was a bit taken aback by the way he described me in the past tense even though I was still working for him.

Still, the astrologer in me realized that “loose cannon” was a fitting description indeed of someone born with fiery Mars in the unpredictable last degree of let-em-have-it Sagittarius.

Mars enters Capricorn at 2:30 a.m. EST on Dec. 27, so make the most of these least moments of Mars in Sag. I’m having a holiday card-writing marathon myself.

Do you have any Festivus or Mars in Sag tales? Astrology Mundo wants to hear them!

One comment on “Happy Festivus!

  1. Hi Monica,

    I think my family has always been trying to celebrate Festivus, even before we’d heard of it! To really plunge in and ‘fess up only once a year might be too tortuous, though, so we stick to a regualr schedule of grievance airing (and air clearing!)

    I wish you a merry Festivus, and Serenity Now!

    Julie

Leave a Reply

