Dodgers Vs. Phillies: It’s Now or Never

I didn’t want you to think that I didn’t notice that the Dodgers lost the other day and that the Phillies are now 3-1 in National League Championship Series. After that setback, I went and looked up Philadelphia manager Charlie Manuel’s chart.

Manuel’s a Capricorn born Jan. 4, 1944 in Northfork, W. Va. I haven’t done a complete analysis of his chart, but like Torre, he’s been getting the benefit of Jupiter in Capricorn. Manuel has been getting Jupiter to his Sun, but it’s past, while Jupiter is moving toward an opposition with Torre’s late Cancer Sun.

In layman’s terms, it means Manuel’s glory may be behind him for the year while Torre’s still may be ahead.

Manuel is dealing with the loss of his mother, who died the morning of Game Two. When the series is over, he plans to go back home to Virginia for the wake and funeral. My respects to Manuel and his family.

Why do I say this when I don’t even know Manuel? I take my lead from call-in sports radio shows, where everyone’s an expert and acts as if he is on speaking terms with the players and managers.

As stated in several earlier posts, I’m not anti-Philly. I lived in a Philly suburb in the mid-1970s, arriving in time for the Bicentennial celebration of 1976. Elton John’s hit Philadelphia Freedom about tennis champion Billie Jean King and her team is part of the soundtrack of my youth.

My stint in Philly coincided with very good years for the Phils. (I won’t take credit for that.) The team won the National League East for three consecutive years (1976-78). Back in those days, Dodgers third-base coach Larry Bowa was playing for the Phillies.

Oddly enough, the first full-length magazine article I had published was about the Phillie Phanatic, the team’s mascot, which debuted in April, 1978. I thought I had died and gone to heaven!

Despite my Philly roots, I’m rooting for the Dodgers. I just don’t like the way the New York Yankees treated Torre, who I think is a true gentleman. As a New York Mets fan, the Yankees are my enemy and their new enemy (Torre) is my friend. They didn’t even honor him when they closed down Yankee Stadium.

I’m not alone in thinking it would be fun to have a Dodgers-Red Sox World Series. Poor Johnny Damon. I bet he wishes he never cut his hair and left Beantown to join the Bronx Bums, I mean the Bronx Bombers.

The Dodgers play the Phillies in Philadelphia tonight at 8:22 p.m EDT.

There seems to be another hot competition on TV tonight, but it doesn’t start until 9.

Unlike bloggers who write about one topic (economics, say, or politics), I can change the channel when I get bored or too depressed. How many 500-plus-point-down days in the stock market can you write about?

3 comments on “Dodgers Vs. Phillies: It’s Now or Never

  1. Sorry guys – The Phillies will win & so will Tampa Bay. I think it’s about time that we see a world series with teams that are not dynasties (aka Dodgers, Yankees, Red Sox).

Leave a Reply

