The Fargo Connection: Sarah Meets Marge

Last night, as I was watching Republican Sarah Palin sprinkle her answers in the vice-presidential debate with such folksy phrases as “Doggone it, Joe,” “I’ll betcha,” and “Darn right,” one word came to mind: Fargo.

Don’t you get the feeling that Palin is channeling Police Chief Marge Gunderson? You betcha! Frances McDormand won a best actress Oscar for her performance in the 1996 film by the Coen brothers.

Here are some choice quotes from Palin and Democratic Vice-Presidential candidate Joe Biden last night, courtesy of Yahoo, and the Fargo trailer.

Well, it turns out that I’m not the only one who made the Fargo connection. My tipster Gastriques sent along a clip that will have you LOL. Leave it to Marge to get the truth out of Palin! (P.S. This is funnier if you watch the Fargo trailer first!)

Biden called to mind Terms of Endearment when he got choked up talking about what it was like to be a single parent. It wasn’t entirely convincing, though, when Biden said the “people in my neighborhood get it…they know the middle class is getting the short end of the stick.”

Despite Biden’s working-class roots in Scranton, Pa., I don’t imagine he lives in a neighborhood where people are struggling. Maybe I’m wrong, goshdarnit.

As for the astrological angle, there isn’t one, except looking at the snowy landscape in the Fargo trailer got me thinking of Pluto in Capricorn. Brrrr!

7 comments on “The Fargo Connection: Sarah Meets Marge

  1. Thanks for the link! Believe it or not, I thought I came up with this theory myself! Hadn’t read a thing or heard any commentary when I wrote it. But I guess it is pretty obvious.– Monica

  2. Hi Monica,

    Slate magazine has a great explanation of why Palin’s accent is so Fargo-like (from ‘The Explainer,’ of course), and Wonkette has a Sarah Palin debate flow chart that seems stunningly accurate–both are worth checking out. I have to say, though, I didn’t think of Terms of Endearment when Biden got a little verklemmt–I thought, “Oh wow, is he going to cry?” and then I was jarred out of it by the neighborhood remarks–though Cynthia explains those nicely.
    Thanks for another fun post, Monica!

    Julie

  3. Julie — I wasn’t making fun of Biden with my Terms of Endearment reference. I was one of those people who cried all the way through the movie and was quite moved when Biden got choked up.
    I have to watch myself sometimes because I tend to be quite flip. Thanks for writing. I’ve been following the Steve Fossett drama over at your Web site with great interest. — Monica

  4. Hi Monica,

    I did not mean to imply that you were mocking Biden; not at all. I, too, was moved when he got choked up–then the dissonance of his apparent prosperity with his remarks about working-class neighbors left me, if anything, confused.
    Sorry for the misunderstanding.
    Julie

Leave a Reply

