We’re Not in Kansas Anymore, Toto

It’s Thursday, Oct. 2, the day of the big debate between Vice-Presidential candidates Joe Biden and Sarah Palin. The senator has no doubt had a fresh haircut and a manicure (hair and hands are important for all politicians, male or female) and is being warned by his handlers not to be too tough on the Alaska governor, lest people feel sorry for her.

Palin’s putting the finishing touches on her “updo,” which some people say looks like it came straight out of AMC’s Madmen. However, I think it looks like a white girl’s ode to the Supremes. We’re still talking early Sixties, though.

The most important choice for Palin tonight, though, is color: Nancy Reagan red or Aquarian cobalt blue? From my observation, Sarah’s a “winter,” which means bright colors are good for her.

(Note to Sarah: No one expects you to know everything, but it’s good to be specific when asked what papers you read and what court cases you disagree with.)

While our future leaders are pondering the nuances of style and subtleties of presentation, I’ve been studying at such economic arcana as LIBOR (London Interbank Offered Rate) and the “TED” spread, the difference between the three-month Treasury-bill interest rate and three-month LIBOR.

While most Americans are focusing on the Dow Jones industrial average, which closed down 348.22, to 10,482.85 today, despite the Senate’s passage of the mother of all bailouts, a crisis of confidence is looming in the markets where banks lend money to each other.

LIBOR reached a record high of 6.875% (that’s to borrow money overnight!) on Sept. 30 before backing off, prompting Dr. Doom — economist Nouriel Roubini — to speculate that we could be facing the “mother of all bank runs.” Now, saying something like that is akin to yelling fire in a crowded theater. But seriously, Astrology Mundo readers, keep a little cash lying around the house.

I have Moon in Cancer at the Midheaven, so I’m worried about you.

2 comments on “We’re Not in Kansas Anymore, Toto

  1. Why thanks Ma Monica for worrying about us! Cash lying around is a very good idea and I thought of that today when I made a deposit – to WACHOVIA. What was I thinking?

    Just as I left town last Friday my bank was sold out from under me. Time to make a move! jude

  2. Jude, I also made a deposit at Wachovia this week. While I was there I called it an act of optimism. Given that I owned AIG and Wachovia stock, I need a strong dose of optimism along with a fifth of whiskey. Only thing is I don’t drink and am too old to start having hangovers.

Leave a Reply

