Raging Universe on Raging Markets

I was up into the wee hours of the morning at my day job, posting stories about the impending bankruptcy of Lehman Brothers, the hastily arranged merger between Merrill Lynch and Bank of America, and the “restructuring” of AIG.

I had planned to sleep until noon, but my curiosity got the better of me and I wanted to see how the markets would open at 9:30 a.m.

I’m awake, but too dazed to analyze why this is happening now. The financial turmoil seems to be coinciding with today’s full Harvest Moon at 5:13 a.m. Of course, the eclipse back in August squaring the New York Stock Exchange natal Sun was my signal to move to cash. Still, I didn’t think things were going to be quite as crazy as this.

Fortunately, Raging Universe has his wits about him. Here’s what he has to say about the Full Moon at 22 degrees of Pisces conjunct Uranus and the chaotic financial markets.

It’s interesting that Hurricane Ike hit Houston as the Sun in Virgo opposed Uranus at 20 degrees of Pisces. Now, financial commenters are calling the combination of last night’s financial events “Wall Street’s Perfect Storm.” Uranus in Pisces: hurricanes in Houston and on Wall Street.

If you’re looking for more intelligence on the Wall Street meltdown, check out my favorite finance maven, Barry Ritholtz, who blogs at The Big Picture.

The economist of the hour is Nouriel Roubini, who was on Bloomberg TV last night, predicting “disaster” for the U.S. financial system that “is going to get worse.” Why? Because we’re drowning in debt. (If you click on this TV interview with Roubini, be patient.)

I’ve blogged about Roubini, whom the press has dubbed “Dr. Doom,” which was also the moniker of famed economist Henry Kaufman the last time Saturn was in Virgo.

I hope that today’s Dr. Doom is being quite careful about what he says, because in this video here, he’s talking about the possibility of a run on U.S. banks. He’s encouraging Congress to immediately recapitalize the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp., which insures deposits of up to $100,000. The danger of even saying something like this in today’s environment is that it will trigger a panic.

6 comments on “Raging Universe on Raging Markets

  1. Pingback: Conspirama

  2. Dear Monica: You didn’t need to be a psychic or astrologer to see this disaster coming but thanks so much for the reminder the other day to get everything out of stocks, which I promptly did. The amount was meager but it’s still important to me.

  3. SFMike — Remember, as my About section says, that I’m not a registered investment adviser. But if I saved you and some other folks a little money, I’m glad to be of assistance. I plan to be back in Palm Springs in November. We must meet! All the best, Monica

  4. In Monica’s blog I had indicated some time ago that in my opinion it was advisable to stay away from U.S. assets. On the dollar I may have been a bit early, but by now it’s recovered what it possibly could. On stocks, I am still on the “right side”, its still pointing down.

    Over many years now I have observed that at each close encounter of Mars/Jupiter (in the sky that is), the market turns — 2-3 weeks after the aspect, more or less. This time it was a square, exact on September 8th at 12 d. 30 Libra for Mars and 12 d. 30 of Capricorn for Jupiter. And on that same day the latter went DIRECT!

    To add some spice: This same Mars is closing in very rapidly to being conjunct Jupiter of the natal chart of the creation of the New York Stock Exchange . You must all be familiar with that horoscope, I suppose.

    It’s an intrigueing constellation indeed. Might be worth a shot “bottom fishing” the likes of AIG and on the safer side, BofA.

    But beware of free advice, as my late uncle used to say. At least glance at the respective charts, I may not have seen everything, and I would not want anyone cursing me either.

  5. Monica,
    here is a link to the history of AIG.
    http://www.aig.com/history_547_104196.html

    In your opinion, which date (chart) would you think is likely to best reflect what is happening with AIG?
    1919 when Cornelius Starr started the first company in Shanghai, China;
    1967- the year AIG as a corporate structure was founded;
    1969 – the year they went public; or
    1984 the year they appeared on the NYSE?

    They all have bring something to the table but I think I need to narrow down so I can find the exact month/day for a specific year. I am leaning in favor of the 1967 date but because of AIG having internationally based concerns am hesitant to rule out the 1919 date.

    As a matter of full disclosure, I used to work for their mortgage insurance subsidiary from the mid 1980s – mid 1990s.

  6. Sasha — I think 1919 or 1967 could work. I think finding a reliable date is important. That might be hard for 1919, but I’m sure there’s an incorporation date for 1967, which probably has Saturn in Pisces and Uranus/Pluto in Virgo. — Monica

Leave a Reply

