David E. Rivers: In Memoriam

David E. Rivers died on Sept. 11, 2001 while attending a conference at the restaurant Windows on the World at the World Trade Center. His employer, Risk/Waters, was hosting the meeting on technology in the financial markets. As the editorial director of Waters Magazine, David was a key player at the event. He was 40 when he died and left behind a beautiful wife and a young son.

I tried to find David’s birthday, but didn’t have any luck. He definitely had a Uranian quality and embraced everything cutting-edge in music, film, and art. No question: He was the coolest guy covering technology on Wall Street.

I know that each of us has a destiny to fulfill. I don’t know why astrology works, but I’ve seen over and over again how the horoscope acts as the map for the road trip of life. Still, I believe in free will.

Nevertheless, I’m haunted by the fact that I helped David get the job that ultimately led to his death. I know I didn’t kill him. The terrorists did. Also to blame: the political and ideological powers-that-be that manipulated angry young men armed with nothing more than box cutters and a desire to kill.

It’s become a platitude to say “he lived life to the fullest” about someone who died young. But in David’s case, it was true. I remember dancing with David to Salt-n-Pepa’s sexy hit Push It in the late 1980s.

The venue was a Futures Industry Assn. convention at the ritzy Boca Raton Hotel and Club in Boca Raton, Fla. David was a wild dancer and in great shape so a group of commodities traders and their wives gathered to watch David bust a move to the provocative song.

As you may recall, the deejay in Push It says, “This dance ain’t for everybody, only the sexy people.” David was definitely one of the sexy people, but sometimes they have to leave the party earlier than the rest of us. This spin of Push It is for you, David!

8 comments on “David E. Rivers: In Memoriam

  1. I worked with David in the late 1990s, he was a great colleague and a good friend. We had lunch just a couple of weeks before the towers collapsed. The pain of his loss is with me to this day but I agree with your post, it’s the life of David that we should remember most.

  2. I knew David from work in the summer at his best friend’s Fish Market and his sense of humor had a huge impact on me. I’ll never forget what a sharp mind he had and still laugh out loud from time to time at some of the things he said. A truly special person and I mean that in a nice way David!

  3. I’m pretty sure David’s birthday was March 1st, but I could be wrong, I remember giving him a t-shirt one year on his birthday. regardless I’m pretty sure he was a pisces. D

    • The New York Times allowed comments on the profiles they did of each 9/11 victim 12 years ago but I believe those are closed. Legacy.com has those obituaries now and I believe you can comment there. Thanks for the kind words.

  4. David was a dear friend of mine. I was slated to be at that conference with him, but fate had other plans for me. Not a day goes by that I don’t find something that reminds me of him……from the waves crashing upon the shore, or a star glimmering in the sky……to pan-seared tuna with wasabi sauce. Playing Push It right now on my Pandora in his honor. Peace and love, Tara Marie

  5. I worked with David at Waters 4 years, such a great guy. An appointment led me down to the Memorial the other day and I walked the perimeter to find his name.
    Sent healing thoughts to wife and son.

Leave a Reply

