10,000 Clicks and Counting

When I was a kid, I used to do a backyard carnival to raise money for the Jerry Lewis Labor Day Telethon for the Muscular Dystrophy Association. If you received an e-mail from me today pleading for just one click to help Astrology Mundo reach the 10,000 mark, you’re probably not surprised to hear about my telethon history.

You don’t have to worry, though. There’s no chance of me posting a video on YouTube of my version of You’ll Never Walk Alone. Here’s a clip that incorporates Jerry’s version of the song with a backdrop of photos from his career, created by Alex Ferraz:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8-XBIJcxKQ&NR=1

Way to go, Alex!

Though we Yanks associate You’ll Never Walk Alone with the Muscular Dystrophy telethon, the Rodgers and Hammerstein standard has a different connotation on the other side of the pond. Part of the soundtrack to the 1945 musical Carousel, the ditty became popular at the end of World War II and was later adopted as the theme song of the Liverpool Football Club.

If you’ve ever been to the North of England, you’ll know that kitsch is not a crime in those parts.

I want to thank everyone for stopping by and helping me reach this important (at least to me) milestone. I couldn’t have done it without you! You know, maybe Jerry was right: You never do walk alone.

Leave a Reply

