The Kiwi Who Won Indy

Well, so much for my theory that Mercury and Neptune going retrograde would translate into victory at the Indianapolis 500 for a previous winner or a member of a prominent racing family.

The checkered flag was taken by Scott Dixon, a New Zealand resident who was born in Brisbane, Australia, on July 22, 1980. It was the first time won the race.

We don’t know the time of birth for Dixon, so he could either be a 29 degree Cancer or a 1 degree Leo. Because Venus was at 1 degree of Gemini on the day of the race, May 25, I’m going to guess that Dixon is a 1 degree Leo who was getting the benefit of a helpful sextile from Venus.

The weekend’s lineup in Aquarius — Neptune, the North Node, Chiron, and the asteroid Indiana — is fairly close to an opposition with Dixon’s North Node at 20 degrees of Leo.

As I mentioned in my post, I didn’t run the charts of all 33 competitors in the race so there’s no way I could have picked Dixon. However, it’s interesting that he was both the starter and the finisher in the race.

Clearly, I have a lot to learn about picking race winners based on astrology, but I’m having a lot of fun trying. I’d like to thank my readers for indulging me. I’m glad I was less definitive about my predictions for the Indy 500 than I have been with other competitions.

For the nonbelievers out there, without a time of birth, it’s hard to make accurate forecasts because you don’t know the sign or degree that is on the all-important first-house cusp, not to mention the other cusps.

It may not have been a great day for Astrology Mundo, but it was a great day for New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

