Monica’s Astrology Book Club

Pamela Cucinell over at Sunburst Oasis just sent a comment saying that Oprah’s chart isn’t looking so good right now. Voila!  What a great time to launch Monica’s Astrology Book Club. No, I don’t think I’m the next Oprah. My second house of finances doesn’t look as good as hers, but I do like to promote things I believe in.

Have you ever noticed how people with a lot of Sagittarius in their chart have a missionary zeal for something they’ve just discovered? “You’ve got to try this restaurant, it’s great!” says Ms. Sag Rising to her co-worker. “This new movie is going to win the Oscar, I’m sure of it,” exclaims Mr. Sag Sun to his roommate.

On that note, I bought a book at the United Astrology Conference bookstore that people have been telling me about for a few months. Yeah, my Mercury/Saturn conjunction in Capricorn moves slowly.

If you read just one astrology book this year, this is it. You don’t have to be an astrologer to appreciate the message. It’s Soul-Sick Nation: An Astrologer’s View of America, by San Francisco astrologer Jessica Murray.  It was first excerpted in Mountain Astrologer and was published in book form by MotherSky Press in February, 2008. For more information, visit  www.MotherSky.com.

Drop me a line if you’ve already read Soul-Sick Nation and let me know what you think!

Speaking of books, I’ve learned that an old college newspaper chum has an online bookstore catering to various pagan pursuits at www.pentaclepress.com. Can you imagine that? It seems The Daily Orange at Syracuse University has spawned occult offspring! If you go to the Pentacle Press site, you’ll immediately see the benefits of having an art background. (The proprietor was a satirical cartoonist when I knew him.)

When writer types design Web sites, they often make them too cluttered.

2 comments on “Monica’s Astrology Book Club

  1. Pingback: University Update - Syracuse University - Monica’s Astrology Book Club

  2. I read “My Stroke of Insight” in one sitting – I couldn’t put it down. I laughed. I cried. It was a fantastic book (I heard it’s a NYTimes Bestseller and I can see why!), but I also think it will be the start of a new, transformative Movement! No one wants to have a stroke as Jill Bolte Taylor did, but her experience can teach us all how to live better lives. Her TED.com speech was one of the most incredibly moving, stimulating, wonderful videos I’ve ever seen. Her Oprah Soul Series interviews were fascinating. They should make a movie of her life so everyone sees it. This is the Real Deal and gives me hope for humanity.

Leave a Reply

