Hillary’s Finest Hour

I’m sitting in the Houston airport with my back to the TV. I’m not sure what time American Idol comes on in this time zone (what time zone am in, anyway?) so I assumed that the deafening applause I just heard was for the two Davids competing on tonight’s Idol. I was wrong. The noise came from supporters of Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton before she delivered her victory speech in Kentucky.

Throughout the campaign, when friends have asked me who I think will win the Democratic nomination, I’ve consistently said I don’t know. However, I’ve always been sure that the worse things looked for Hillary, the better she would perform. Why? Because she’s a Scorpio, and natives of this sign don’t give up until they’re dead.

Hillary  was born Oct. 26, 1947 in Chicago. Her birth time hasn’t been confirmed, but StarIQ’s Michael WolfStar uses an 8 a.m. time. Here’s the chart: http://www.stariq.com/Main/Articles/P0007653.HTM  

Pundits such as New York Times columnist Maureen Dowd have commented on Hillary’s shape-shifting on the campaign trail. I think that has been due to transiting Neptune in Aquarius squaring her Mercury in Scorpio and forming the fourth part of a grand fixed cross in her chart. If she had become what Dowd dubbed “the Scranton gal” earlier this year, she might have sewn up the nomination by tapping into the rising frustration of working-class voters as Saturn transits Virgo.

She’s become so much more comfortable in her skin over the past couple of months. I’m glad she ditched the black pantsuits that she wore during her New York senatorial campaign for more flattering jewel colors. (No, I don’t think it’s sexist to comment on what a candidate, male or female, is wearing in a campaign that is so image-driven.) I really wanted to believe her last night when she declared, “As Kentucky goes, so goes the nation.” But I don’t think she really believed it herself. It was a joke she was sharing with us.

Even though we don’t have a time of birth for Hillary, many astrologers are expecting her to drop out of the campaign when transiting Uranus hits her Moon in Aquarius, which could be any day now, depending on what chart you’re using for her. Today, transiting Uranus in Pisces is sextile Jupiter in Capricorn, lighting up Hillary’s natal Moon in Pisces and electrifying her Mercury in Scorpio.  Her star has never shined as brightly. But is it a shooting star?

2 comments on “Hillary’s Finest Hour

  1. I think your are still waering rose colored glasses about what is going to happen to the US and the world.
    You wrote”I left his lecture feeling quite depressed, but also consoling myself that maybe his downbeat outlook was yet another example of European schadenfreude, taking pleasure in others’ misfortune. You know, those Euros want to see Yankee ingenuity go up in smoke, I told myself.”
    If we European could only have Schadenfreude, but the situation the high and mightiest of the US bought down on the rest of the world is so terrible that there is only resignation and utter and thorough disgust left.
    Maybe now what comes down on to the US and the rest of the world more or less is tit for tat or Yin and Yang or you get what you sow. The american ingenuity is also a selfdelusion. Without constant “new blood” from the brightes students from the whole world and sthe stolen knowledge and technolgy and highjacked Scientists after WW II the US would be no where. This seems to be the destination of the US for the future. Sad!!!

  2. Charles — I have no doubt that Yankee ingenuity owes a lot to the brainpower of immigrants, but I don’t think we hijacked them. Take one example: Sergei Brin, the co-founder of Google. According to the Wiki, his Jewish Soviet parents, both mathematicians, came to the U.S. in 1979. No doubt they were escaping anti-Semitism in Russia and a stifling economic system. Their son was able to benefit from an excellent U.S. education and went on to found search engine giant Google with Larry Page.
    My point? The American educational system and the venture capitalists of the Silicon Valley provided Brin and Page with an environment that encourages innovation.
    In terms of the American downfall, we’ve been down before. Look at President Nixon’s resignation in 1973 or the American Civil War. I have no doubt that the arrogance of the Bush Administration has contributed to the animosity toward the U.S., and that many of our European neighbors will revel in our troubles.
    I don’t think we will drag the world down with us. There is too much going on in the BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India, and China) economies for a U.S. downfall to destroy the global economy. The greater danger, in my opinion, is if emerging nations mimic our wasteful consumption patterns and further accelerate global warming and other environmental problems.
    I think Scandinavia, Germany, and Japan have a lot to teach the world about recycling and reducing waste. And Israel is a fabulous incubator for new ideas. Perhaps the new source of energy that supersedes gas will come from Israel, which as we all know, is heavily subsidized by the U.S.
    I think the famous quote that has been hijacked in the U.S. to fan patriotic fervor — “United We Stand, Divided We Fall” — applies to all the nations of the world.
    Since the beginning of the Bush Administration, I have increasingly relied on foreign news outlets to let me know what’s going on here. A non-U.S. perspective is always welcome on Astrology Mundo! Thanks for taking the time to write. Best regards, Monica

Leave a Reply

