Horoscopes That Help Your Wallet

Back in the early 1990s, when the Uranus/Neptune conjunction was on my Capricorn Sun, I tried my hand at a daily financial astrology column for Knight-Ridder’s wire service. The column had to be live by 7 a.m. and it took me about three hours to do forecasts for all 12 signs of the zodiac.

Sometimes I would write the night before, but usually I got up in the wee hours of the morning, drew my charts by putting the Sun on the ascendant and populating the houses according to the planetary positions as of 7 a.m. Then I would pound out the column, fueled by the adrenaline of the impending deadline.

Writing a daily column is like being a parent. You have to get out of bed in the morning and feed that baby — no ifs, ands, or buts. As parents will attest, this kind of responsibility changes your life irrevocably.

After six months, I went back to a full-time office job so I gave up the column. You can’t do that with a kid, though. You’re signed up for life.

O.K., as usual, I’ve buried the “lede,” as it’s called in journalism. All of this is the running start to my celebration of the new sun sign horoscopes by KT, the astrologer formerly known as Kelli Fox, over at www.mainstreet.com. KT (that’s her legal name) is loaded with lots of astrological academic credentials, but she makes all the star (the ones up in the sky and the ones in Hollywood) stuff accessible to the layman.

MainStreet.com is a sister site to TheStreet.com, which covers Wall Street, and there’s a money emphasis to some of KT’s horoscopes. I was surprised at how on target they are, especially about what can motivate each sign to make and save money. Remember that you can also read the one for your rising sign, if you know it. I won’t bore you with the technical detail, but for sun sign columns, the one for your Ascendant may work better.

Here’s the link: http://www.mainstreet.com/horoscopes/sun-sign-financial-profile

Recently, there’s been a hue and cry in journalism that despite some high-profile exceptions like Maureen Dowd and Ann Coulter (how’s that for liberal/conservative balance?) that there aren’t enough female columnists.

Having a column can destroy your life. If you don’t believe me, read Neal Gabler’s excellent book about Walter Winchell, Winchell: Gossip, Power and the Culture of Celebrity. In addition to consuming his life, Winchell’s column was directly responsible for the destruction of the lives of his wife, daughter, and son. A very tragic story.

Many people today have never heard of Walter Winchell, but he was once so powerful and ubiquitous that Lucille Ball learned she was pregnant by listening to his radio broadcast. At the time, Ball was a huge star because I Love Lucy was the top-rated show on TV. Winchell had a source at her ob/gyn and got the news before she and then-husband Desi Arnaz did. This was before the days of home pregnancy tests.

After I read Gabler’s book on Winchell, I came up with my own theory about why there aren’t more female columnists. I don’t think it’s because we lack the confidence to speak with a distinctive “voice” (I’ve managed to hang on to my breezy, parenthetical style despite the best efforts of many English teachers) or that in this day and age women are discriminated against in newsrooms.

There’s no question that women have to work hard to prove themselves in arenas where a macho culture prevails, such as science, the military, heart surgery, the auto industry, and the U.S. Presidency. However, I think media truly is an equal-opportunity employer when it comes to gender. Race is another story, but don’t get me started on that.

No, I think the reason why there aren’t more female columnists is that most women want what is popularly known as “work-life balance.” Maybe Newsweek’s Anna Quindlen has been able to maintain a happy home and write a weekly column, but how many women can perform that juggling act?

Whenever someone starts blogging that Mo Dowd hates men so much that she isn’t married, I always think that person doesn’t know what he is talking about. Maureen Dowd IS married: She’s married to her column, which seems to inspire a lot of hate mail and blogger rants, like this: http://obsidianwings.blogs.com/obsidian_wings/2007/04/to_call_maureen.html

I hope that with all the work involved in being the new house astrologer for www.mainstreet.com, KT can keep some sanity in her life. Here are some words of wisdom from William Safire, in his farewell op-ed column for The New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2005/01/24/opinion/24safire2.html

In the meantime, I’m adding KT to the growing ranks of my blogroll! After all, I’ve got my own baby blog to feed!

2 comments on “Horoscopes That Help Your Wallet

Leave a Reply

