Lorena Ochoa: Our Lady of Golf

Some of you may remember that I put forth the theory in my Gabriel Byrne post (“On the Couch with Gabriel Byrne,” Apr. 16) that people often end up in the news or get an extra shot of publicity on their birthday, give or take a day. This morning, I was reading The New York Times profile about Lorena Ochoa, who is being hailed as one of the greatest Mexican golfers of all time — male or female. 

Here’s the link: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/20/sports/golf/20ochoa.html?_r=1&sq=Lorena%20Ochoa&st=cse&adxnnl=1&oref=slogin&scp=1&adxnnlx=1208725383-cOlTj8WCWu4oqcBr1/zK2g

I can read the story because I’m signed in to the Times Web site. I hope you can read it too. The article about Ochoa’s hot streak reminded me that I’ve been meaning to look up her birthday. She was in Rancho Mirage, near where I’m staying in Palm Springs, earlier this month for the Kraft Nabsico Championship, which she won by five shots.

The Times noted that in a week dominated by news from the men’s Masters tournament, Ochoa won the Corona Championship in her home country of Mexico and qualified for the LPGA Hall of Fame at the age of 26.  By doing a little surfing on the Net, I’ve learned that Ochoa was born in Guadalajara on Nov. 15, 1981. She’s a focused Scorpio with great financial acumen. Here’s the chart, courtesy of Astrodienst:

http://www.astro.com/cgi/chart.cgi?cid=41laaaa19347-s971800598&lang=e&gm=a1&nhor=215&nho2=11&btyp=24&mth=gw&sday=20&smon=4&syr=2008&hsy=-1&zod=&orbp=&rs=0&ast=

So here’s the birthday stuff. I found a press release on the Net dated Nov. 14, 2007, the day before Ochoa’s birthday: http://www.lpga.com/content_1.aspx?pid=13366&mid=1

It announced that the Ladies Professional Golf Assn. (LPGA)  has added the 2008 Lorena Ochoa Invitational to its schedule and that it will be played from Nov. 13-16 at Ochoa’s home course, the Guadalajara Country Club. So the tournament was announced the day before her birthday last year and Ochoa will be playing in her namesake competition on her birthday this year.

I rest my case! Stuff happens around people’s birthdays.

Ochoa and Annika Sorenstam are the only two players to currently host and title their own LPGA Tour event. And it’s only the 15th time in the LPGA’s nearly 60-year history that an event has been named for a person. Viva Ochoa! Viva Mexico!

I like to have fun with words so I’m playing off Our Lady of Guadalupe, the protectress of Mexicans everywhere, in my headline to this post. I hope no one thinks I’m commiting a sacrilege here. After all, Our Lady of Guadalupe ends up on T-shirts, candles, soap, and car windshields, so I think it’s O.K. if she serves as the inspiration for my headline.

With a Moon in Cancer at the Midheaven, I’ve been a Marian ever since I was able to read about Our Lady of Fatima. I’ve been fascinated by the Black Madonna shrines around the world and was really moved when I was able to visit one in Montserrat, Spain, on Mother’s Day, no less, in 1996.

Leave a Reply

