The Beginning (and End) of the Oil Age

Taking a page from astrologers who look at the chart of the Wright brothers’ first flight for clues to why an airplane crashed, I’ve calculated the chart for the discovery of oil to see if we can learn anything about the recent spike in oil prices and whether fears that we’ve entered a “peak oil” period are valid.

According to the Web site of the Paleontological Research Institute (PRI), petroleum was first discovered on the morning of Aug. 28, 1859 in Titusville, Pa. The find was made in a well drilled earlier that summer by Edwin Drake that had been nicknamed “Drake’s Folly” because it hadn’t produced any results. Click here to learn more.

We don’t know what time the oil was first spotted, but the Web site says morning. I’ll venture to say that folks started work pretty early back in those days, so I’ve set the chart for 7 a.m.

Here’s the chart, courtesy of Astrodienst.

I want to point out that even if the Ascendant is iffy because I’ve arbitrarily picked 7 a.m., that Neptune in Pisces in the seventh house seems valid, given that Neptune rules oil and it is in the sign that it rules, Pisces.

Michael WolfStar at Neptune Cafe has rectified this chart and uses a 7:56 a.m. time. His page on oil is one of the most comprehensive collections of charts and commentary on the subject that I’ve seen.

What’s really interesting is that the upcoming Saturn/Uranus opposition in Virgo/Pisces, exact on Election Day, is quite close to the oil chart’s Neptune at 26 degrees of Pisces.

I’ve consulted my trusty reference book, The Combination of Stellar Influences by Reinhold Ebertin, to learn that Saturn/Uranus equals Neptune means: “weakening strength, separation, mourning, and bereavement.” Could we be sad because our oil is running out? If the chart is any indication, the answer is yes.

It’s interesting that this chart has a Venus/Mars conjunction in Leo when you consider that the automobile, powered by gasoline, was a venue for sexual exploration and other youthful (Leo) hijinks like “joy-riding” and playing “chicken” in the 1950s. We see a little of this in the opening scenes of the latest Indiana Jones movie, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. A lot of gasoline is burned in the name of fun, a Leo realm, as we drive and fly to weddings, parties, baptisms, graduations, family reunions, and vacations.

Another thing I find fascinating about this chart is that it has North Node and Chiron in Aquarius not far from where they are traveling right now. What does this mean? I’m not sure, but record high oil prices are leading us to re-examine our dependence on this commodity and perhaps our whole way of life.

As readers of this blog have probably gathered, I approach astrology and the charts I calculate with a Sagittarian enthusiasm. I see myself as an explorer. I’m looking for connections, but I’m not wedded to my own interpretations. I think charts are valuable maps for those of us who think we know how to read them, but they can operate on many levels at once and their nuances aren’t always immediately apparent.

I’ll write more later, and I’d love to hear what other students of astrology have to say about this birth of oil chart.

10 comments on “The Beginning (and End) of the Oil Age

  1. Pingback: Commodities » The Beginning (and End) of the Oil Age

  2. Fascinating article, I love it.

    The Sabian for 20 Virgo is “An automobile caravan”, seems pretty apt really, especially since the term would have been meaningless in the absence of petroleum; so I used that to rectify the timing to 6.45 am.

    If you look at the Solar Arc it’s interesting to see that Neptune as the ruler of oil moved into the 12th less than 2 years ago, it has progressed past Saturn 7 years back, which suggests that there is less supply, Mars 3 or so years ago (is there some Gulf War stuff here?) and it will apply to Venus sometime in the next year.

    It will be interesting to see how that plays out. Intriguingly the big conjunction of Chiron, Neptune & Jupiter (and Pandora actually) in May 09 will be in direct opposition to Oil’s Mars in Leo, this at the same time as Neptune applies to Venus by SA, so maybe we find a viable alternative? More oil? An end to the occupation of Iraq?

    Who knows, I haven’t the time to look that closely just now, but I shall be intrigued to see how it plays out.

    Great post.

  3. Dear Chirotic — Thanks for your fascinating insights and the compliment. Having knowledgeable astrologers contribute to this site makes it better for everyone. — Monica

  4. Dear Chirotic, I think I would go with the chart for the aug 27th. The hole was dug on the 27th – on arrival on the 28th – they found oil in the hole. I drew up a chart for oil sometime ago – sadly I didn’t list my own reference. I have aug 27th 1859 and a time of 18.00!! I definitely got this time from somewhere..mmmm. Anyway this chart puts the north node on the asc., has Mars and Saturn bracketing the descendant and Uranus conjunct the IC. There are six planets in the 7th house, and the south node. Lot’s of lessons to learn here about sharing, caring, and joint handling of resources. Uranus on the IC points to modern machinery,and all the modern materials that are derived from oil, plastic for example. Some food for thought anyway. Liz

  5. Hi Liz, we meet again :P Must be fate :)
    And thank you Monica, nice to meet you.

    I looked at this chart too, the conjunction of Chiron and NN is very intriguing, and the conjunction of Hygeia with Saturn tells a big story about living in a manner which constricts positive and healthy habits. How true is that? With Hygeia that close to descending it has to say something about disowning the health-concious lifestyle almost completely; in fact Hygeia’s placement in conjunction to Saturn and opposition to Chiron are the closest aspects in the chart; the wound of being miserly in attitudes to healthy living is quite clear would you not think?

    Looking at the SA in this chart I just realised that 2009 has to be an interesting year as Oil quincunxes itself; that sounds like a problem. The lower quincunx too has a 6th house connotation, that’s also a lifestyle, taking things for granted type of energy, right? It says to me that we’ve taken oil for granted, now we have 30 years (until the oppositions) to find another way.

    Also, April next year, Oil’s Pluto moves into its 8th house. Wooo. Then SA Uranus opposes radix Pluto on 5th May 2010. That, I can tell you from personal experience is nasty, I just got my first one and as you no doubt know it brings sudden and often unpleasant skeletons screaming out of the closet. This across the 2nd/8th axis too, so it’s all about resources and money: no doubt that’s when the world finds out that they’ve had the technology to run your car for a year on a teaspoon of water since 1970. You know, that sort of thing :)

  6. Oh, look, I just put the two together: conjunction of Ju/Ne/Ch opposing oil’s Mars on 23rd May 2009 and SA Ur opp Pl a year later (which is a day later (27th/28th?). Interesting.

    OKay. The world will explode in May next year. Possibly.

    Jeremy :)

  7. Well, a lot of folks like Ray Merriman are predicting a crash in oil prices. Finding out that the technology exists to run your car for a year on a teaspoon of water would definitely lead to an overnight decline in oil prices. Thanks for your insightful comments!

  8. decline in oil prices? Check.
    being really annoyed at all the money I’ve spent on fuel in my life? Very check…

  9. Folks — I’ve been thinking about the back-and-forth on this chart for awhile and I still think the best time to set the chart for is when the oil was discovered, not when the well was sunk. The chart is for “Oil Discovered” and that’s the moment that we should be striving to analyze, in my humble opinion. — Monica

  10. Pingback: Révolution Tumultueux « Chirotic Journal

Leave a Reply

